Pop Culture

Willie Nelson, Lucinda Williams, Miranda Lambert, and More Contribute to New Billy Joe Shaver Tribute Album

Willie Nelson, Lucinda Williams, Miranda Lambert, Amanda Shires, and morehave contributed to an upcoming compilation that pays tribute to the work of outlaw country musician Billy Joe Shaver. Executive produced by Charlie Sexton and Freddy Fletcher, Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver is set for release on November 11 and also includes contributions from Margo Price, George Strait, Allison Russell, Nathaniel Rateliff, Rodney Crowell, Ryan Bingham and Nikki Lane, Edie Brickell, and Steve Earle. Listen to one of two songs Nelson contributed to the album, a version of ‘Live Forever’ featuring vocals from Lucinda Williams, below.

“He was just real; there wasn’t one phony drop of blood in him,” Nelson said. In the album’s liner notes, Fletcher wrote: “His influence on the greatest of artists is what inspired this project. The album is a testament to his words and their deep impact on wonderful songwriters and performers. He’s a hero to so many, and we are honored to pay homage to his legacy.”

Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver Cover Artwork:

Live Forever: A Tribute To Billy Joe Shaver Tracklist:

1. Willie Nelson (w/ Lucinda Williams) – Live Forever
2. Ryan Bingham (w/ Nikki Lane) – Ride Me Down Easy
3. Rodney Crowell – Old Five And Dimers Like Me
4. Miranda Lambert – I’m Just An Old Chunk Of Coal (But I’m Gonna Be A Diamond Someday)
5. Edie Brickell – I Couldn’t Be Me Without You
6. Nathaniel Rateliff – You Asked Me To
7. George Strait – Willy The Wandering Gypsy And Me
8. Amanda Shires – Honky Tonk Heroes
9. Steve Earle – Ain’t No God In Mexico
10. Margo Price – Ragged Old Truck
11. Willie Nelson – Georgia On A Fast Train
12. Allison Russell – Tramp On Your Street

Articles You May Like

The Difference Between Sci-Fi and Fantasy, According to Twitter
Alec Baldwin Criminal Charges for ‘Rust’ Could be Coming, D.A. Seeking Funds
Sarah Jessica Parker Exited NYC Gala To Be By Dying Stepfather’s Side
Mount Kimbie Announce New Album, Release New Songs
Trevor Noah Leaving ‘The Daily Show’

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.