Pop Culture

GIFT Announce New Album, Unveil New Single ‘Going in Circles’

Brooklyn-based psych-rock outfit GIFT have announced their sophomore LP, Illuminator. The follow-up to 2022’s Momentary Presence arrives August 23 via Captured Tracks. It includes the previously released ‘Wish Me Away’, as well as a new single, ‘Going in Circles’. Check it out below and scroll down for the album cover and tracklist.

“This was the first song I wrote for Illuminator that helped me realize the direction of the album,” vocalist/guitarist TJ Freda said of ‘Going in Circles’ in a statement. “I wrote the chorus while passively playing guitar and rushed to record the idea. At that moment, something clicked and I realized where the album was going. At our shows from the Momentary Presence tour, people would stand in the crowd wide-eyed without moving. We wanted to get people moving with the new album, so we were really inspired by bands like Primal Scream, Oasis and Massive Attack. It’s our psych-rock tribute to U.K. rave culture in the ‘90s.

“The song is about the endless cycle of a relationship, the back and forth in both euphoria and doubt,” Freda added. “The chorus ‘I never told you why’ is about never being able to say how you really feel, not having closure and the cycle continuing.”

Illuminator Cover Artwork:

Illuminator Tracklist:

1. Wish Me Away
2. Light Runner
3. To The Stars and Back
4. Going In Circles
5. It’s All Too Fast
6. Falling Down
7. Destination Illumination
8. Late
9. Glow
10 Water In My Lungs
11 Milestones

Articles You May Like

‘Only Murders in the Building’ Season 4 Officially Wraps Production, Go Behind The Scenes
The Surprising Benefits of Online Dating You Never Knew
Has the DEI Backlash Come for Publishing?
Jenni Lee Is Changing Fashion From the Ankle Up
After Angelina Jolie Scored A Major Award Win Alongside Her Daughter, Her Dad Jon Voight Shared Some Sweet Thoughts