Pop Culture

The Album Leaf Announces First New Record in 7 Years, Shares New Song ‘Near’ With Bat for Lashes

Canadian electronic artist Jimmy LaValle, aka the Album Leaf, has announced his first new LP in seven years. Future Falling, the follow-up to 2016’s Between Waves, lands on May 5 via Nettwerk. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Near’, a collaboration with Bat for Lashes’ Natasha Khan. Check it out and find the album artwork and tracklist below.

“I had sent Natasha a song I was working on to see if she’d be up collaborating,” LaValle said of ‘Near’ in a statement. “We spent an afternoon in my studio while she sang a handful of ideas over the piece. I took those ideas and created something new inspired by her vocal. I really wanted to create something to support the dreamlike narrative she was painting. It was all very natural.”

Khan added: “We worked organically, I was building vocals over Jimmy’s music; playing with melodies and words… he then took it away and sculpted it into what became ‘Near.’ The imagery was of going deep into a dark forest with a small glimmer of safety, something precious and secret. Sort of an ambient fairytale. It was very spontaneous and fun to improvise.”

Talking about the process behind Future Falling, LaValle explained:

During the pandemic, I created new music almost daily. I had amassed a daunting amount of new material that I felt connected with, that it almost acted more like a road block. I experimented with a lot of audio manipulating, learning new tricks and staying true to my love of analogue synthesizers. I finally settled on a collection of songs, and after second-guessing all of them, I reached out to multiple friends and collaborators to contribute. With those contributions, I was able to craft a record that represents both the time I spend alone discovering and creating while keeping the collaborative spirit that I have always been inspired by.

Future Falling Cover Artwork:

Future Falling Tracklist:

1. Prologue
2. Dust Collects
3. Afterglow [feat. Kimbra]
4. Breathe
5. Future Falling
6. Cycles
7. Give in
8. Stride
9. Near [feat. Bat for Lashes]
10. Epilogue

Articles You May Like

Tissot Announces Rugby Player Marcus Smith as New Ambassador
Taylor Swift Wins Song of the Year, Innovator Honor at iHeart Award Show
Meghan Markle Wins Defamation Lawsuit Filed By Her Sister, Case Dismissed
Station 19 Season 6 Episode 12 Review: Never Gonna Give You Up
Jonathan Majors Arrested for Assaulting Woman in NYC, He Denies It

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *