Showtime Cancels “Penny Dreadful: City of Angels” After One Season

The main series lasted three seasons and we’ve learned tonight that Showtime’s brand new spinoff series “Penny Dreadful: City of Angels” is saying goodbye after just one.

Variety first broke the news that “City of Angels” has been cancelled.

“Showtime has decided not to move forward with another season of ‘Penny Dreadful: City of Angels,’” the network said in a statement. “We would like to thank executive producers John Logan, Michael Aguilar and the entire cast and crew for their outstanding work on this project.”

A spiritual descendant of the original “Penny Dreadful” story set in Victorian-era London, “Penny Dreadful: City of Angels” opens in 1938 Los Angeles, a time and place deeply infused with social and political tension. When a grisly murder shocks the city, Detective Tiago Vega is embroiled in an epic story that reflects the rich history of Los Angeles: from the building of the city’s first freeways and its deep traditions of Mexican-American folklore, to the dangerous espionage actions of the Third Reich and the rise of radio evangelism. Before long, Tiago and his family are grappling with powerful forces that threaten to tear them apart.

The full cast includes Natalie DormerRory KinnearLin Shaye, Michael Gladis, Nathan LaneDaniel ZovattoLorenza IzzoAdam RodriguezThomas KretschmannDominic SherwoodEthan Peck, Kerry Bishé, Adriana BarrazaBrent SpinerAmy Madigan, Hudson West, Julian Hilliard, Jessica Garza and Johnathan Nieves.

Articles You May Like

5 Moving Hacks for Faster, Easier, Less Stressful Moves
Anne Geddes: The Visionary Behind Iconic Baby Photography
NYPL Launches Nationwide Teen Banned Book Club
body / negative Announces New Album ‘Everett’, Unveils New Single
Country Music Memories: Travis Earns Hollywood Walk of Fame Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *