Pop Culture

MGMT Announce New Album ‘Loss of Life’, Share Video for New Single

MGMT have announced their fifth studio album, Loss of Life. The follow-up to 2018’s Little Dark Age arrives February 23 via Mom+Pop. Today’s announcement comes with the release of the new single ‘Mother Nature’. Check out the Jordan Fish-directed video for it below, and scroll down for the LP’s cover artwork and tracklist.

Andrew VanWyngarden and Ben Goldwasser worked on Loss of Life with producer Patrick Wimberly and longtime collaborator Dave Fridmann, who has contributed to all of the band’s studio records. Spanning 10 tracks, the album features a collaboration with Christine and the Queens, marking the first-ever official feature on an MGMT album. Daniel Lopatin (Oneohtrix Point Never), Brian Burton (Danger Mouse), and James Richardson provided additional production on the track.

According to the band, ‘Mother Nature’ “outlines the archetypical MGMT mythology of one hero attempting to get the other hero to come on the journey that they ‘must’ go on. One part sounds like Oasis.”

Speaking about the record, the duo said: “All joking aside (never!), we are very proud of this album and the fact that it was a relatively painless birth after a lengthy gestation period, and are happy to be releasing this baby into the world with Mom+Pop. Musically speaking, we are running at around 20% adult contemporary and no more than this, please.”

Loss of Life Cover Artwork:

Loss of Life Tracklist:

1. Loss Of Life (part 2)
2. Mother Nature
3. Dancing In Babylon [feat. Christine and the Queens]
4. People In The Streets
5. Bubblegum Dog
6. Nothing To Declare
7. Nothing Changes
8. Phradie’s Song
9. I Wish I Was Joking
10. Loss Of Life

Articles You May Like

The 2023 Booker Prize Winner Announced
CS2 Case Odds
Secrets of the Mega Book Series of the ’80s and ’90s
10 Free Card Games You Can Play Online
Brothers Osborne Announce ‘Might As Well Be Us’ Tour

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *