Kacey Musgraves Announces Fifth Album ‘Deeper Well’

Kacey Musgraves is entering a new era of music — and she tapped the “great ghosts” of Electric Lady for it.

On Thursday, the country singer announced that she’ll release her fifth LP, Deeper Well, on March 15 via Interscope and MCA Nashville. Musgraves co-produced the record with Daniel Tashian and Ian Fitchuk from Electric Lady Studios in New York City.

“I was seeking some different environmental energy, and Electric Lady has the best mojo,” Musgraves said in a press release. “Great ghosts.”

The album artwork sees a bare-faced Musgraves looking into the camera in front of a field of greenery as she holds up a flower, looking intently at the camera.

“It’s a collection of songs I hold very dear to my heart,” Musgraves wrote on Instagram. “I hope it makes a home in all of your hearts, too.”

A press release teases the singer exploring the “moments of life that often go unnoticed” and how “deep lessons emerge” from the smallest events. She co-wrote most songs with Fitchuk and Tashian but joined Shane McAnally and Josh Osborne for the track “The Architect.”

Other track titles on Deeper Well that stand out include “Dinner With Friends,” “Jade Green,” “Anime Eyes,” and “Too Good To Be True.” The first song to be released from the LP is its title track, accompanied by a video directed by Hannah Lux Davis. The track follows Musgraves learning about her life priorities and stepping away from what drains her.

“Sometimes you reach a crossroads. Winds change direction. What you once felt drawn to doesn’t hold the same allure,” Musgraves said in a release. “You get blown off course but eventually find your footing and forage for new inspiration, new insight, and deeper love somewhere else.”

Musgraves teased the new album during a 30-second video that aired during the Grammy Awards on Saturday, shortly after she won Best Country Duo/Group Performance for her song with Zach Bryan, “I Remember Everything.”

In the video, the singer-songwriter is seen running through a field, writing in a notebook, and, at one point, seemingly harnessing a ball of light. At the end, she gazes directly into the camera in a studio as a snippet of a new song plays: “My Saturn has returned,” she’s heard singing.


Deeper Well follows her 2021 album, Star-Crossed, which featured songs such as “Camera Roll,” “Hookup Scene,” and “Breadwinner.”

Deeper Well track list

  1. Cardinal
  2. Deeper Well
  3. Too Good To Be True
  4. Moving Out
  5. Giver / Taker
  6. Sway
  7. Dinner With Friends
  8. Heart of the Woods
  9. Jade Green
  10. The Architect
  11. Lonely Millionaire
  12. Heaven Is
  13. Anime Eyes
  14. Nothing To Be Scared Of

Articles You May Like

Hellessy Fall/Winter 2024 at NYFW
Beyoncé Just Became the First Black Woman Artist With a Number One Country Song
Kevin Costner Divorce Rife with Claims of Infidelity on ‘Yellowstone’ And Montecito
Rhiannon Giddens Covers Alice Randall’s Jarring Tale of Lynching ‘The Ballad of Sally Anne’
CBD Bliss: Vaping Your Way to Inner Calm